The Nomination Procession

The Nomination Procession

The nomination period for the Best In Rhyme Award runs from April to September.

Books are nominated by Rhyme Revolution Facebook members.

Books nominated must adhere to the following criteria:

1. Must be a rhyming picture book published from January to December, the previous year.

2. Must be written in rhyme

3. Must be a story, not a concept book.

4. Must be traditionally published (Not self-published)

* This is due to the number of books the committee would need to read and score. Our small committee can barely handle the traditionally published books nominated.


During October, the Best in Rhyme Award Committee will read and score books nominated with a specific rubric used for this purpose.

HERE is the rubric used for scoring.


A list of the Top 20 books will be published during December and the committee will then read and score the top ten, which will be published in January.

The winner will be announced annually in February at the KidLit TV Studio in New York City, hosted by Julie Gribble.


Thank you to our Committee members:

Darlene Ivy

Annie Bailey

Mandy Yates

Patricia Toht

Gayle C. Krause

Lori Grusin Degman

Kenda Henthorn

Suzy Leopold

Lucky Williams

Cindy Williams

Founder – Angie Karcher


The 2016 Best in Rhyme Award Winners